Prince George's County

County Executive, Jack B. Johnson

County Council

The County Council has three main responsibilities in the planning process: (1) setting policy, (2) plan approval, and (3) plan implementation. Applicable policies are incorporated into area plans, functional plans, and the general plan. The Council, after holding a hearing on the plan adopted by the Planning Board, may approve the plan as adopted, approve the plan with amendments based on the public record, or disapprove the plan and return it to the Planning Board for revision. Implementation is primarily through adoption of the annual Capital Improvement Program, the annual Budget, the water and sewer plan, and adoption of zoning map amendments.

Council Members

Thomas E. Dernoga, 1st District Peter A. Shapiro, 2nd District Thomas R. Hendershot, 3rd District Douglas J.J. Peters, 4th District David Harrington, 5th District Samuel H. Dean, 6th District Camille Exum, 7th District Tony Knotts, 8th District Marilynn Bland, 9th District

Clerk of the Council

Redis C. Floyd